Gregory Robert

Gregory Robert
Gregory Robert

Nickname: “GoGo” 

Hometown: Paris, France

Fashion Model // Hip-hop dancer 

Gregory ordered: Big Sean’s 1st Quarter Freestyle

GoGo’s been on the go. Gregory’s life has quickly picked up since he was scouted on the streets of Paris by Vogue and Kenzo contributing photographer Kira Bunse. He has gone on to be signed by a modeling agency—Rockmen, walked Paris Fashion Week for Tijane Kenny, modeled for WAD Magazine, and is also a familiaiar face and contributor to Pigalle, one of the most influential up and coming clothing labels of 2014. Oh, you may also recognize him for his starring role in Sam Smith’s music video for “Leave Your Lover”. Although his life seems to be on cruise control at the moment, Gregory has slowed his roll for a feature on the blog. Enjoy!

PARLER DE LA MODE (FASHION TALK)

T.K.O: What’s up my man? Off the bat, how would you describe your personal style?

GoGo: Yo! I really don’t think I have a particular style. However I would say I am heavily influenced by the 70’s and 80’s, and 90’s hip-hop scene.

T.K.O: I feel you. Going off of that, I’ve noticed that you like to throw it back with your fashion choices (vintage windbreakers, pastel colors, classic brands like Lacoste), and rock the oversized fit flawlessly. Who are a few of your personal style inspirations?

GoGo: Yeeaah Lacoste is one of my favorite brands. My close friend Taylor Martinez has inspired me through his vision of the world and his coolness. I have also been inspired by French movies like La Haine, Ma Cité Va Craker, along with two of my favorite movies Lords of Dogtown and Boss’n Up with Snoop Dog haha.

Street style
Street style

T.K.O: All three French films have just been added to the summer list. Thanks! Where are your favorite places to shop, and where can I find a similar wide brim hat like yours? That’s one my favorite looks at the moment.

GoGo: My favorite places to go shopping in Paris are “Rue Tiquetonne“, Chatelet, and Pigalle. I also love going to vintage shops to find old school stuff. About the hat—you can find the same one in every thrift shop around Paris.

Very clean
Vintage clean

T.K.O: Haha of course. Another incentive to book a flight to France this year. Catch you at this fall’s Fashion Week? How do you go about adding to your closet? Since you walk runways, and are routinely outfitted by designers to model their collection, you get the first peek to their seasonal offerings. Would you say that you shop as you model, or do you stick with finding pieces online and in-store?

GoGo: Designers often give me clothes they haven’t released yet, and that’s very cool, but at the same time I make it a priority to stay true to myself and dress how I want.

T.K.O: Respect bro. Have you been to the U.S before? If so, or based on personal encounters, how would you say our fashion here differs from fashion in France?

GoGo: No I have never been to the U.S but I’d like to visit soon. I don’t know but I think that NYC fashion is cooler because in New York, people seems to be more open-minded and are not afraid of being themselves; Paris is more haute couture, more snobbish. NYC seems to be more street.

DES MOYENS MODÉLE (MODEL WAYS)

T.K.O: You nailed it! I’ve never been to Paris, but that’s the vibe I get as well. What’s the story behind getting into modeling, and how has your experience been? 

GoGo: It all began 3 years ago. Back then my friends and I would often be chillin’ in the streets of Paris when one day a women named Kira Bunse (Paris photographer) approached me because she was interested in my profile. At first I wasn’t really interested about getting into modeling because dancing is my first passion, but I quickly integrated into my first agency. Rockmen has represented me since day one, and I feel very blessed that the fashion world has shown me love.

Paris stomping grounds
Paris stomping grounds

T.K.O: Kira Bunse is big league! That’s fate man, and I’m glad that it’s been a great ride. What’s the one thing that you love most about modeling?

GoGo: The thing that I love most about modeling is that I can associate my image with the designer’s work. I look at it like this: it’s me in collaboration with the designer instead of me simply modeling his/her pieces.

T.K.O: There we go! By being proactive not only are you leaving your mark, but you are also learning. How did you first hook up with Pigalle, and what are your thoughts regarding it’s massive growth over the last year following the buzz created by last winter’s Paris fashion show, and their successful Nike collab? Remember the days when you had to physically shop at Pigalle to rock Pigalle? 

GoGo: Stephane Ashpool really deserves his success because he knows how to merge streetwear and high end clothing. I also appreciate his gesture of sending me free clothes haha

Pigalle drop
Pigalle x Nike connect, $$$

T.K.O: No doubt. One of the really dope things about Stephane Ashpool and Pigalle is that he asks his close friends to model and walk the “runways” of his Fashion Week presentations. I actually just re-watched the video from last year’s S/S ’14 collection and caught you in it! Can you take me back to when you guys first met? For how long have you known him and what has the friendship been like?

GoGo: Stephane has always been around—it’s like family. I knew him through a friend we have in common “Kirikoo Des” (big up to him and go listen to his songs he’s a killer). After that Stephane contacted me for a project…

Gregory x Pigalle
Gregory x Pigalle

T.K.O: And the rest is history. You recently landed the starring role in Sam Smith’s video for “Leave Your Lover”, was it your first video shoot?

GoGo: No, I had previously been a part of several videoshoots but “Leave Your Lover” has definitely been the biggest. It was a very cool experience!    

T.K.O: Can you take me through the process of landing your role beside Sam and Daisy? 

GoGo: It was kind of difficult at the beginning because my role was really special. However there was a good mood on set and Luke Monaghan (video director) was also really nice, so it ended up being easy.

Behind the scenes shot: Gregory, Daisy Lowe, and Sam Smith
Behind the scenes shot: Gregory, Sam Smith, and Daisy Lowe

T.K.O: It’s all about spreading good vibes. Were you able to style yourself for the shoot? I am a huge fan of your various looks throughout the video!

GoGo: Thank you man! Yes it was mostly me except for the suit, which was a Kenzo. It was a perfect fit haha

Action shot
Action shot

T.K.O: So what’s your personal preference—photoshoot, videoshoot, or runway modeling?

GoGo: Photoshoot. I really take pleasure on set and I like to discuss with the stylist and photographer. It is also way less pressure. I would really like to do a big campaign one day.

RAP HAUT (RAP UP)

T.K.O: Sky’s the limit! What’s up next for Gregory Robert?

GoGo: A lot of surprises man! Stay tuned, I could be somewhere you don’t expect to see me soon…

T.K.O: Haha I’ll keep my eyes peeled. Congrats on everything man. Finally my dancer friends always hook me up with the greatest mixes, what’re you bumping right now?

GoGo: Have you heard about Mykki Blanco? That man is sick. I also listen to 90’s classic hip hop and French rap music! Ohh listen to this, Big Sean “1st Quarter Freestyle”. It’s my jam at the moment. 😉

We're out!
We’re out!

From giving the lowdown about French fashion, to dropping hints about where I can pick up similar pieces from his closet, and even suggesting a couple jams and movies to check out, Gregory has shown the blog lots of love. Thank you bro, and like I’ve already said, I’ll be keeping my eyes open for you. Surprise me!

-T.K.O

Leave a comment